, attached to 2021-08-04

Review by Laudanum

Laudanum This whole show is a mood. Island vibes rule the first set, as laid-back a set as you'll find. Not that it's lazy, or isn't well-played, it just wants a mojito. Cool Amber and Mercury feels like the lynchpin, providing the vibe for everything that follows. Listen to Page's excellent work here, but also in Water in the Sky. Theme contains more of a wave swell than a peak, and the whole set just floooows. Even Fluffhead is relaxed and digging toes in the sand, at least until the end, which does provide a pretty explosive peak, foreshadowing what's to come in set two. Yeah, set two. That friendly beachside from set one is long gone. Dark jazz owns the night here and Mr. Completely ramps into a why-are-aliens-landing-in-Tennessee churn before settling into Birds of a Feather and turning the amphitheater into a smoky lounge. Ghost is next and soon the aliens are back and so is Mr. Completely, the whole thing becoming a dark soup of jam at this point. The transition into Gin is so astounding, so twisted that it infects the whole song, much like the transition to Fuego from a few nights earlier in Arkansas. Mike propels the Gin > 2001 combo to fits of sci-fi disco fury, like the end of Kubrick's film, but with a disco ball and fierce grooves. The only place this possibly ends up, of course, is Melt. No Trey ballad could withstand this psychedelic storm. And what a Melt it is. A portal opens mere moments into the jam, the band steps through, and we're treated to music of some other place, some other time. An alien landscape, an alien biosphere. More like a Yes album cover than Yes ever was. It is, in a word, phenomenal. Even the damn Zero encore twists and oozes. They just couldn't stop. Here, for the record, is something no other band can do: string five seemingly random old songs together and tie them up with sticky jam so they sound like they were brand new and always meant to be played in that order, with that arrangement, with a cohesiveness rivalling the best albums ever produced. Listen to this show and be astonished. This is one of the greatest Melts *ever* played. And it's 2021.
, attached to 2021-08-04

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost Amazing return to form from the previous night. Fluffhead was the cherry on top of set 1. Funky Gin was really fun. A few repeats were welcome additions to the show and added to the excitement. Banter, ->'s, deep improvisation, and fan favorites. This show had a bit of everything. The vibe was also perfect, we can not wait to return here!
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by SirDelins

SirDelins The second of the two shows in Alpharetta is great and caps off an excellent weekend of Phish. I was worried at first due to some rain we got before the show started, but the show managed to start when expected. Set one starts off with Buried Alive, which is always a welcome opener for me. Set Your Soul Free comes next, and I really enjoy this song honestly. This version is a fun way to get the jamming started for the night. The band then drops a classic with Reba, and despite some flubs, this was a solid version. Another classic comes with My Friend My Friend which is another good performance for a good song. We then shift into newer territory with 555 and Kill Devil Falls, two 3.0 songs that I've come to enjoy and solid first set songs. Gotta Jibboo is next, and this is another great first set jam. They always manage to get the place going with this first set jam vehicle and this version does not disappoint. Sparkle comes next, keeping energy high before another newer song is played with Thread. I really like this song, especially after the extended version in Sigma Oasis, and this version, unlike some of the other live versions, brings some more of that improvisational energy. Maybe we'll see this one jammed out more in the future, but I'll take more like this version too. Meat is a fun song, and it is a great song to get the crowd going with its hypnotic funky vibe. Run Like An Antelope then ends the set in fiery fashion. While more subdued than the first set from the night before, this is also an excellent first set. The second set starts out unexpectedly with More. Not a personal favorite of mine but this placement with solid in my opinion. Out of that comes Trey playing the opening notes of Tweezer, and as to expected, the place erupts. Oh boy were we in for one hell of a version too. While I thought Trey was trying to go to a different song around the 15 minute mark, the band instead carries the jam on for a total of 33 minutes, and the jam truly reaches its highest points in the last 10 minutes. A unique jam that covers a lot of ground and is must hear. Out of this monster Tweezer comes Twist, and this version packs quite a punch despite being relatively short. An excellent short version of the song. Piper comes next with similar energy to the preceding Twist, a powerhouse short version keeping the energy high. After all of that, Farmhouse and Waste cool things down before First Tube brings it back up to end the set. The encore features an emotional Trey during Sleeping Monkey, and of course Tweezer Reprise to cap off an amazing weekend of Phish. 4.0 is officially off to a roaring start, and this show is must hear, even if just for the Tweezer alone.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by SirDelins

SirDelins The first of the two Alpharetta shows was quite the show to be in attendance for, and showed that 4.0 was off to a roaring start. Sand opens the show, and is one hell of a way to start the first set. Though your typical first set Sand, it is a great song to get the entire place moving. Everything's Right is next, and this one gets improvisational quickly. It gets to some nice territory, keeping the energy high. Turtle in the Clouds and Maze, while standard, are very high energy versions that keep the energy going. Refusing to cool down, Destiny Unbound and Foam make for even more fun. Up next is one of my personal favorites in Stash, and this version is excellent. Even though it is not long, it manages to pack a lot in its duration, keeping the high energy that had ben fostered by the rest of the set. Bathtub Gin, another one of my personal favorites, closes the set in fiery fashion. Ultimately, an outstanding first set. With how exciting and great the first set was, the second set had big shoes to fill. Chalk Dust starts the set, and this one out of the gates gets improvisational. While not the best version of Chalk Dust out there, it covers a lot of ground and makes for an entertaining set opener and one of the longest versions of the song to date. Steam comes next, as it tends to do after improvisational behemoths like that. It is a good song and is always welcome to hear. Prince Caspian comes after, and this is a good version of a song I always really enjoy. The next three songs, Golgi Apparatus, AC/DC Bag and Shade, are fine, but feel out of place. Felt like a bit of a buzz kill after what we got earlier, I thought just maybe AC/DC Bag would get jammed out again but it was not meant to be. However, the band turns it right back up with Mike's Song, and this is a fun short version. They then surprise us with Silent in the Morning (without The Horse coming before it), and I enjoy hearing the song. Weekapaug then comes and is a nice energetic way to end the set. The encore is A Life Beyond the Dream and Cavern, nothing remarkable but I am not complaining. While overshadowed by the next set in my opinion, this is still one hell of a show, even if the second set is a bit disjointed near the middle, so I would recommend giving it a listen. I had a great time attending and it holds up well just listening.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by Xpanding_Man

Xpanding_Man This show was fun AF to watch from the comfort on my home, with my band of fellow phreaks. Our band plays 8 of the songs from this night so we were grokking over that quite a bit. By the time they did Foam (which we don't play obviously), I was smiling hard. CDT was so long and good that I, like others I'm sure, forgot repeatedly what song we were in. Steam/Caspian was a nice break of sorts, then back to the heat with Bag. Shade is my new favorite ballad; it's gorgeous and Trey sings it well. Mike's had me jumping for joy and dude, I really, REALLY wanted a hydrogen, but alas I was Silenced. Perhaps the best testament to the overall quality of the playing was that two bandmates had early mornings and were not planning on staying for the whole show, but....hey, we're in a phish tribute band for a reason! We love the music! And Trey remembered the words to Cavern yayyyy Cheers
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by jayreeder

jayreeder Another great show. I received an email that this was my Phish anniversary. 8/1/98 was my first show. The band set the hook with a dreamy Tweezer jam that night. My anniversary present was a Tweezer jam rivaling the ‘98 jam. Jibboo was so good to hear. Loved it. Antelope was very solid. Piper and Waste were nicely done. First Tube brought out the best in Trey and the crowd. Gotta love this band.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by planetlitness

planetlitness The best word I can use to describe this show is [i]cathartic[/i]. It was my first time out since the pandemic, becoming a parent, and then some. So even if it was a cool-off from Alpharetta, this show was exactly what I needed. I would've loved some bust-outs or a monster jam, but for my first time back out in society, the familiarity of these songs just made me appreciate what was going on and take it all in. A beautiful night for sure. My only real criticism is that the first set seemed a lot longer than the second. Not sure what prompted that.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost Great show tonight with a killer setlist. For me, I didn't hear them connecting on some of the jams. After the last few shows we were bound for a dip in energy but that's okay because the vibe at this venue and this city more than makes up for it. Beautiful here and I'm sure the guys are going to get comfortable and dig it tonight.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone Am I the only one who feels like there is somebody with a bunch of accounts that likes to influence the scoring? Because I can seldom figure out any rhyme or reason as to how a particular show fares in the early voting. That early voting in turn has a significant impact on the later voting. My paranoid ramblings aside, this was a pretty solid show. In particular I was psyched to finally hear "Divided Sky" in person. This was my 42nd show, so it didn't come quickly but it was worth the wait. As the first few notes played I was thinking "Wait, I know this. WTF, is my long wait over?" Yes, yes it was. I now know the secret to life, the universe and everything. Overall the song selection was good with several personal favorites being featured and some solid to excellent jamming throughout, though nothing super earth shattering. In spite of "Divided Sky" being in the first set I'd give the nod to the second as the better of the two. Possum is always fun and YEM was a nice way to finish up before the "Loving Cup" encore. The venue is great from a listening, aesthetic and vending perspective, but it would benefit from some more bathrooms. It was rare at any time for there not to be a line at both the mens and women's bathrooms and the six or so added extra porta potties only seemed to help a little. Overall I'd rate this show a 3.8 to 3.9 or so.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone Am I the only one who feels like there is somebody with a bunch of accounts that likes to influence the scoring? Because I can seldom figure out any rhyme or reason as to how a particular show fares in the early voting. That early voting in turn has a significant impact on the later voting. My paranoid ramblings aside, this was a pretty solid show. In particular I was psyched to finally hear "Divided Sky" in person. This was my 42nd show, so it didn't come quickly but it was worth the wait. As the first few notes played I was thinking "Wait, I know this. WTF, is my long wait over. Yes, yes it was. I know know the secret to life, the universe and everything. Overall the song selection was good with several personal favorites being featured and some solid to excellent jamming throughout, though nothing super earth shattering. In spite of "Divided Sky" being in the first set I'd give the nod to the second as the better of the two. Possum is always fun and YEM was a nice way to finish up before the "Loving Cup" encore. The venue is great from a listening, aesthetic and vendor perspective, but it would benefit from some more bathrooms. It was rare at any time for there not to be a line at both the mens and women's bathrooms and the six or so added extra porta potties only seemed to help a little. Overall I'd rate this show a 3.8 to 3.9 or so.
, attached to 2021-08-03

Review by PYIT_Hip

PYIT_Hip Gorgeous night on the bank of the Cumberland River. Those of us in attendance had a full sensory experience, with Mother Nature, the sound, the band, and CK5 locked in for full night of entertainment. If you like Phish’s output thus far this tour, then you won’t be disappointed in the show. I’m definitely gonna take a close listen to Sample and BDTNL, both stellar expamles of the the quality phish is putting out. Mull??? Wasn’t sure about this at first, but whoa!!! What happened there? It turned into an absolute beast. Gotta hear that again. No mans landed the mother ship and ruby waves saw her fly off again. YEM?? Yeah, I’ll take it! Boom! Vocal jam with CK5 rig transcending time and space. Let’s do it again tomorrow!
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by ChasingDsky

ChasingDsky ... that Tweezer, though, amiright?! Seriously though, this show is a soup-to-nuts feast of tight playing, inspired improvisation, and the silliness we all seek when seeing our favorite band perform. Was the show flawless? Not entirely, but mostly so. Which is what I'd expect in a live performance of very complicated music. A strong storm passed through the venue around 7:20/7:30, causing the venue to clear the lawn. The crowd followed the instruction "and the rain, and the rain, and the rain came down." After a short spell the weather cleared, the crowd repopulated the lawn, and it was ON. The entire show will be shadowed by the Tweezer. But the first set should *not* be overlooked. The band was in fine form and played near-flawless versions of the songs. Buried Alive makes a statement that this show is going to leave you 6-feet under. But don't worry, for I hear that Death Don't Hurt Very Long. In fact, the band helps make the journey easy. A well placed and well played SYSF with a nice type 1 beautifully meandering jam that brought spirits high (pun possibly intended). Reba is played incredibly well once Trey remembers how to start it. It's definitely worth a listen. As are the Jiboo and Antelope from this set. The rest is all played very well. I'm not a fan of Thread, but this version is captivating and fits very well with the rest of the set. Is this the best Tweezer every played? Who knows, and who cares. Picking "the best" Tweezer is not different than deciding which of your children is the best. Even though it's obviously your daughter, you'll never tell your sons. And, frankly, some days she's outshined by her little brother. Let's just say that this version is "the best." Period. It must be played and played often. The Twist and Piper keep the heat going and provide the perfect digestif to this huge meal. The 55 minute Tweezer->Twist->Piper from this show are Phish in their finest form. The rest of the show is just icing. Perhaps Farmhouse and Waste are too sweet for your tastes following the red meat the band just threw out to the crowd. That's OK. Clearly Trey enjoyed them, as you can hear the emotion creep into his voice and his delicious lead work in both songs (and again during the Sleeping Monkey encore). Normally I am a huge fan of First Tube. This one rages to be sure. But IMO Trey was a bit too loosey-goosey with the main riff phrasing and timing for me to really get into it. But again, who cares? I'm thrilled that I got to see this one live. Never miss an Alpharetta show. Or a Sunday show. Or, at this rate, a 2021 show.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by art_vandelay

art_vandelay Was a blast to be at this show, and the boys didn't disappoint. Upon relistening, not only did I enjoy myself all over again, I was surprised to remember how much of the performance was dominated with groove-heavy rhythm and Type II jams, including a wide-open and usually Type I Chalkdust. Only gripe is with the LivePhish audio. While it's an overall quality listen, sometimes Trey's effects don't sound fully connected into the soundboard...so occasionally, some of Trey's peak-building effects are only faintly heard on the LP recording, despite ringing loud & clear at the actual show. Hope a remix is forthcoming :D
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by hurdygurdy03

hurdygurdy03 Little bit of rain to cool off the crowd prior to the start of the show. Once the announcement came back that the lawn was reopen (and everyone was already there) it was go time. Simiilar to Camden 2019 N1, I felt a SYSF opener inbound (feel a little rain) but was thrown a hot Buried Alive. Tone was on and we all knew this night was going to be something. SYSF to follow in the second spot had some legs. The first chuck of Reba till the bliss of the ending jam was played well. MYFE had a knife, or two, and ended strong and complete. KDF to Jibboo was a good pairing and both gave just enough to the crowd to keep their dancing shoes warm. While the band figured out how Thread started again we awaited a possible big bust out and, although only the 5th time played, this thread unraveled into some deep dark space. Something to look forward to in the future. Antelope smoked and set break came too soon. Been you to have any refreshments, Mon? Now for set 2…. Something about More opening the frame left an initial “lot to be desired” about this but here come the opening notes of what we all have been waiting for….TWEEZER. Many could probably write a novel about this 33+ Minute behemoth but I’ll let your own ears be the judge. From the McGrupp jam/tease around 15:30 to the powerful stop start, sample-effects-laden, driving jam cruising past the 30 minute mark, it is exactly what Alpharetta ordered. A classic Twist>Piper pairing bleeds out of the end of Tweezer. Something that has only been done a handful of times in the last 12 years believe it or not. To continue the Farmhouse album theme of the night we get the title track. A patient and swirling, yet soft jam to cool those down whose heart rate was still 100+ after the three prior songs. Waste reminds us that we love wasting our time with this band and First Tube brings out rock star Trey full force. Jedi Mode activated. Encore - Grab the Kleenex, at least for Page here, as we go home on the train and trey thanks us for a great weekend before Tweeprise sends us on the road again. Solid first weekend back if I may say so myself. Happy summer tour and long live the Phish….from Vermont.
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by Laudanum

Laudanum First set is very good, with an excellent My Friend and a unique and somehow plaintive Jibboo. Thread is the tightest version yet, and gets pleasantly strange. Trey breaks out his rusty machine gun for Antelope. But second set is where the goods are, namely the Tweezer > Twist > Piper sequence. Here, then, is where we leave the map. The Tweezer folds and morphs, requiring multiple listens to ascertain its full geometry. The Twist and Piper keep with this theme, both containing sections quite unlike recent versions of these songs. The full effect is 55+ minutes of mind-bending Phish, new jams resetting songs like the band had somehow psychically kept playing through the pandemic. It's likely a fool's errand to project out a tour based on four shows, especially one so tenuously balanced, but with this trajectory, we may at the beginning of something truly special here, kids. The revolution won't be televised, but it just may be webcast.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Museummouth

Museummouth Okay so they’re getting a bit more warmed up now I see. 1st set has a nice sufficient Ghost, and Walls, a song I usually don’t care for, goes pretty hard. 2nd set Carini is the beast though of the show. Excellent synth action from Page and lots of space funk layering. Easy jam chart version and probably a top 5 Carini overall. The rest of the set is nice as well but doesn’t match those highs. Yarmouth Road was a mess of flubs and forgetting lyrics but kinda funny. 3.9/5.0
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Museummouth

Museummouth A sold enough tour opener. A little bit of rust here and there but a fun enough show. Wolfmans is a nice first set microjam with some good peaks. The LxL is also worth checking out. 2nd set doesn’t quite go that deep. There’s a nice exploratory Simple that has a cool segue to Fuego but that’s all that you really need to listen to if just skimming for highlights. Accurately rated at 3.3/5.0.
, attached to 2021-08-01

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Just fucking unbelievable show, the Tweezer > Twist > Piper is... like just new ground, the Tweezer specifically deserves an essay but I'll let someone else describe that, just improv after improv after improv to create riffs out of thin air and turn them into hose. After the great first set (SYSF, Reba with the nailed composed section, Thread > Meat with the absolutely insane Antelope peak), the first song of the second set was "More" and it made us all think for a second, and then Tweezer drops, just absolutely insane. Immediately a must-hear, likely 34 minutes and change of repeated hose after hose after crunchy hose. The Tweezer > Twist (great stuff there too) > Piper (must hear as well) rings a bit of 12/6/97 except this is a new Phish, a new Trey with an insistence to play and jam and create stuff, because, look at it from the point of view of the band, will there be more tours? will we be sidelined for an indefinite time? trey has obviously been practicing so much. Farmhouse and Waste great versions and Trey is back on top with First Tube. Another shoutout to the emotional encore with Sleeping Monkey. Remember Page and Trey getting emotional during Wading during Coventry 2004? And that was gonna be the last show ever? Now they're both in the emotions before an adoring crowd 17 years later. Because they're back. Phish is fucking back. Have you seen anything like this lol? I mean it's just the improv that isn't anything like I've seen in 3.0. They're playing like it's the last tour because it very well might be. Enjoy it while you have it. Trey is nailing composed sections left and right. And may have gotten emotional during Farmhouse. What a king. We're here for 4.0! Must hear: S1: Reba, Thread > Meat, Antelope S2: Really the whole thing. But if you're short on time: Tweezer > Twist > Piper, First Tube (also grab the Sleeping Monkey with crowd vocals). I don't know what to say, it's so good. Ride the wave folks
, attached to 1995-12-31

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog There's a Fire On The Mountain tease (two separate ones, in fact) at the end of the Drowned right before they segue into Lizards. Just pointing that out to y'all since it's not on the recap. Thanks! Great show from a great era. You can't go wrong with this show. In fact, I'd recommend it to a new head if they show interest in the 90s. Just that good!
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by ChasingDsky

ChasingDsky This is a great show, worthy of a download on your favorite source for such things. My wife and I took the waaay back of the lawn, Page side. The sound, sight lines, and atmosphere were on-point. As for the the music: it’s good. Damn good. The band is tuned in and hitting all cylinders despite only being 3 shows into a tour after a very long hiatus. I won’t go into too many details on each song, however some highlights: Everything’s right has a nice winding, happy jam. Maze is fierce and a bit angry, as we expect. Stash is a great offering. Much will be said about the CDT, and right rightfully so. It’s a jam beast with many twists, while staying generally happy. The stash and caspian that follows are solid. Several others commented about the “weird” placement of Golgi, AC/DC, and Shade. As an old vet, all I can say is the following: the sooner you realize that the band is out there to make themselves happy, the better. They play what feels right, and what makes them happy. The benefit for those of us listening: unleashed creativity that, more often than not, feels right too. Golgi in the second frame? F’yeah. I will sing and show my stub whenever you want to see it. This show is great. Full stop.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Yeah. Keep it coming boys and bummer re lack of glow sticks. The best part of this show was my friends complete satisfaction, qualified with ‘this is the best show ever’. Of course it wasn’t, but that’s the beauty. He had a blast. And to him it was the best ever (with a little help). It’s nice to enjoy a show with no thought on song choice, length, location, quality, etc etc etc. just being with new and old friends, dancing hard and singing together in the Shade. yeeeeaaaahhh.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by beovaldi

beovaldi This is a good show…First Set highlights for me are definitely the ER and Stash. The rest is listenable and groove worthy…my two year old son even started moving his body as we couch toured. The Chalkdust gets things going right to begin the second set. Anyone watching the webcast or riding the rail undoubtedly saw Trey, as they ended CDT Proper make a signal with his hand to Jon - fingers pointing to the air like a spaceship launching into space. “Let’s blast off, Fish.” And launch us they did…as far as 3.0 CDTs go, only the BD and Randall’s versions compare. This will be relistened to and analyzed multiple times by these ears. (Like the Carini from Oak Mountain the night before.) Steam was a perfect call after that, like a cigarette after hot intercourse, and Caspian was well executed. Then, for me, a weird run of three songs killed a second set that could have been…Golgi, the late set Bag, and Shade were just oddly placed to me and kind of killed the vibe that Dust laid down to open the set. I like all three songs, and they certainly have their functions. Just odd to me. But maybe that’s just me. The Mike’s>Silent>Paug to close, however, got things going again and finished the show with some gusto. The “This exact thing happened to me…just last year” part was fun and seemed to elicit a huge release from the audience. Encore of two songs that this Phan hopes they will shelf for good… Good fun show. 3.75/5. The download is highly recommended, even if it’s mainly for the Chalkdust. Don’t sleep on the ER, Stash, or closing Mike’s>Silent>Paug either.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by jayreeder

jayreeder Great 1st four run to get the place sizzling. Stash jam was great. Gin was good to hear but I didn’t feel they clicked in the jam. Chalkdust continued where Stash left off and took it all the way. Caspian Golgi AC/DC bag was another good run. Band and crowd were having a great time. I personally enjoy LBTD. Very beautiful guitar that ramps up with emotion. Cavern always welcome.
, attached to 2021-07-31

Review by LizardwithaZ

LizardwithaZ [url=https://phish.net/blog/1627810324/alpharetta-1-recap.html]Full review from me[/url] Mini review: amazing 1st set with no slow points. 2nd set had great playing and great jams, if a little disjointed near the end. Sand, ER, CDT, and Caspian were all fantastic. They nailed Foam! Lots of great synth work out of Page, and Fish is having fun with his samples.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by KWdub24

KWdub24 I will never understand the ratings on this site! I was in attendance and I guess you can never really translate how good a show actually was unless you were there. I boogied nonstop all night, it was not optional. Great setlist flow, the Carini jam seamlessly led from one section to the next. Even the slower songs were played beautifully. This show rocked, period!
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by acidtechno

acidtechno this show absolutely slayed. great pace, fun setlist, and everything they played (to perfection i might add) had a particular sonic palate that i really enjoyed. both sets had their own vibe and an energy but combine to be cohesive listening experience. highlights for me was pretty much everything. the carini is the best ive ever heard, but everything else has merit.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by themayor

themayor I was [i]supposed[/i]to be at this show. I was gonna make the drive from Nashville, but right as I got into my drive, I started feeling my tire deflate. I pulled over to go to a gas station to quickly fill up my tires with air and I would be on my way! Turns out the air pump was broken and was only taking air out of my tires. Long story short, I had 3 deflated tires and couldn't make it. I was very sad. But this show was incredible. I bought another webcast with the money I got from selling my ticket. Set 1 opened with a strong Moma. The band already sounded tighter. Sigma Oasis was awesome and blissful in the fleeting sunlight. The rest of set 1 was performed very very well super tight and awesome. Not too much to say for it besides it was very solid. Set 2 opened with Evening Song which is cool. Good to hear Sigma Oasis songs sound really great. That went into Carini. Whoa! It was getting exciting. Carini went into a slow burning jam, and just when it seemed like Trey wanted to segue into something else, he turned it into a riff and the band picked right up, and the jam went into multiple different segments from there. It turned out to be the longest Carini to date. Wow. All timer jam, in my opinion. The rest of the show was really great, too, the Hood was awesome as hell. I can't WAIT to hear Alpharetta run, and then I'M ATTENDING THE NASHVILLE RUN!!
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by mikeisupa

mikeisupa My first show review (I'm definitely a jam-oriented listener, but love the songs): 7/28/21 If you thought Phish sounded different on this night, you’re right. They do sound different. I’m sure there are many pandemic-related reasons—being cooped up for over a year and itching to play live again, Trey’s energy coming off the Beacon Jams and the Divided Sky Foundation fundraising effort, and several pandemic releases (Sigma Oasis, December, and Lonely Trip…not to mention Trey’s many Instagram “releases”). But there are also some tangible differences. Trey debuted a new guitar, which he has described as the “4.0 guitar.” Maybe a reference to this being Phish 4.0 (although Trey reportedly doesn’t buy into the whole 1.0, 2.0 thing), but definitely a reference to this being his fourth Koa Languadoc (way more on this guitar here: https://treysguitarrig.com/2021/07/28/2021-summer/). Trey had recently modified some of his guitars to have two outputs, first running to an amp with more clean tone, and the other running to an amp with all his effects. This guitar seems to have been built specifically for this new rig—the first Languedoc built with two outputs. The guitar also has a warm tone, and rich sustain. So Trey just sounds a little different. Mike’s rig is also modified. He has been using different rigs when he plays solo and with Phish. He has recently been modifying his Phish setup so that he uses the same (or very similar) rig regardless of who he’s playing with. You can listen to him discuss his rig with Tom Marshall on Under The Scales here: https://www.osirispod.com/podcasts/under-the-scales/under-the-scales-048mike-gordon-part-1/ (somewhere around the 25 minute mark). But the first sign that Phish was going to sound different (other than Trey’s January announcement of his new guitar) was visible during the stage shot of Page’s rig during the live stream, before the show even started. Page made a MAJOR transformation to his setup, moving his Hammond Organ/Nord Stage stack from the left side of his piano to the right of his piano, and moving his Wurlitzer electric piano/Moog synth from right of his piano to left. This is huge. Think of all the classic songs that involve Page playing piano with his right hand and organ with his left—often at the end of big jams like Hood and Slave. I went back and rewatched the Slave from this show, and it looked like Page turned left to find his hand placement on his organ before remembering that the Hammond is now to the right. Then you see him playing the Hammond with both hands (no piano) at the end of the jam. So I’m expecting to see him opting for one or the other during these moments, rather than switching to piano with left hand and organ with right. Page playing organ with his left hand and piano with his right at the end of jams has helped create that “wall of sound” that makes those peaks sound so big. Is that element of their sound now gone? Why would he make such a transformational change? Well, for the past several tours it seems like Page’s go-to keys for jamming have been the Wurlitzer/synth stack (and it has been amazing!). And so I think Page is saying that when the band is jamming, he wants to play these keyboards, while also being able to see his bandmates. And this seems true for nearly the whole tour opener—Page is camped out at his Wurlitzer, and the synth is coming out with far more frequency. So I think we can expect a far more synth-heavy tour this summer. I’d also add that Page just sounds way more out front to me. He is playing very assertively, and taking a lead role during a lot of the jamming. Page-side is definitely raging! Other differences I heard were hard to tell if it was actually different, or just a byproduct of the live stream mix (or my tv’s sound bar vs. usual headphones). But it sounded to me like Page and Mike’s vocals were louder in the mix. I’m not an expert on this stuff, but it also seemed like Mike is singing harmonies more frequently in his head voice than his chest voice. Both Mike and Page sounded a little more assertive with their singing, and I wondered if this is in response to how much Trey’s singing has developed in recent years. I think they may be hearing that change and stepping up their games as well. Now let’s talk about the jamming. Yes, there was maybe some rust on some of the early songs, especially around endings (Bouncing Around the Room stood out). What I was actually hearing was some nerves, but also I think there was some very close listening by the band, and maybe they were trying too hard to pick up on cues from each other—triggering some mis-cues. But none of the rusty moments bothered me one bit because the energy was hot. Set one was pretty much all straight versions of songs, but with a nice intensity. Limb By Limb and 46 Days stood out to me as great “straight” versions of “type 1” jams. Wolfman’s was “type 1,” but the most stretched out performance of the first set. It was funky, and rocked hard. A great listen, but definitely not a big “type 2” exploration jam. Set two was a different story. The first 4 songs (Disease, Simple, Fuego, and Plasma) all featured “type 2” jamming, and segued—so this was sort of one big block of music. I’ll return to this part of the show in a moment. The rest of the set was pretty straight. During the first jam section of Jim, Trey transitioned into Weekapaug, and they actually played a whole chorus before snapping back into Jim. Call it a segue, call it a tease. On the Live Phish app, they only list it as Jim, so I guess that makes it an extended tease. And there was some sort of vocal sample going on during Slave. During the jam, Trey was holding this one long, extended note, and there was some sort of vocal sample that kept playing. It sounded like Page at his Nord, but on re-watching, I can’t see him anywhere near the Nord. I’m still not quite sure what was going on there. Fish seemed to be smiling, and Trey seemed to be totally into the jam and not responding at all. It seemed a little distracting to me, but I’m curious to know more about it. Returning to the first four songs of the set, there was a lot of jamming! Down with Disease and Plasma were both great. The Disease was much more exploratory than the Plasma, and would have been the standout jam in a lot of shows. Trey seemed to surprise his bandmates with the end of Plasma, but it was a great version nonetheless. Both jams were moody and the band sounded locked-in a la pre-pandemic late 3.0. Fantastic! But the highlight for me was definitely Simple. This was an EXTRAORDINARY jam. I hate to say “the first” about anything Phish, because who knows. But I heard something I hadn’t heard before, and I hope to hear again! During the “type 2” jamming, Trey improvised a theme—and in that sense, it’s similar to some of the huge major key “bliss” jamming of the late 3.0 era—but what was different was that he didn’t keep playing the theme while the band laid down an incredible groove. Instead, he played the theme twice, then re-joined the exploratory jamming with the rest of the band. Then as the jam went in a new direction, he revisited that theme over the new groove. He did this several times. It sort of reminded me of Chopin’s nocturnes…developing a theme, then exploring variation on that theme. If you listen along with the Live Phish version of the song, I’ll point out the times for the original theme, and its variations. The jam starts to go into “type 2” territory around the 5:25 (or around 6:00, depending on how much of a purist you are). Then the theme makes its first appearance at the seven-minute mark, playing it a few times between 7:00-7:40. That part of the jam still had a very “Simple” sound to it—and had that been the entire jam, it would have been noteworthy. Then we go through a slightly darker, synth-heavy passage before Trey’s theme emerges again at 8:43 and 9:06. Then, just as the jam starts to brighten up, Trey plays his theme at the 10:06 mark, this time through a gnarly, distorted tone (followed immediately by another run through a cleaner tone), and one more time at 10:34. From here, the jam goes into another movement—sort of reminiscent of a Light jam (?)—and Trey bounces around the theme several times, without playing it directly, at around 11:00. Then at 11:37 he plays it again through another effects-laden tone (followed by a variation of the theme by Mike). The theme emerges again, this time coming out of a fairly abstract jam, right at 12:45. And at 13:01 Trey plays it a final few times, through VERY heavy effects. Again, I’m not saying they’ve never jammed like this before, I just can’t think of another example. This was simply brilliant playing. The jam gets pretty abstract towards the end. The time isn’t standard, and Trey and Mike are both using a lot of effects. And out of this abstract moment, Trey starts playing the opening chords to Fuego. But Trey’s still using tons of effects, Page is playing a synth, and the time doesn’t seem to be quite back to standard as Trey starts singing the first verse. It’s like they didn’t quite fully segue out of the crazy Simple jam into Fuego, and are now playing Fuego half-standard, half in a different (fully improvised) arrangement. Man, what an incredible band! Somewhere around the 2-minute mark, it sort of pops into a standard Fuego (albeit very effects-heavy). From there, it’s basically a “type 1” jam, but a really good one. I’ve listened to the Simple>Fuego several times, and it’s sort of hard to listen to the Simple without listening to the Fuego. For me, the Simple>Fuego is the clear highlight of the show…and it could turn out to be a highlight of the tour. And all this on my birthday—happy birthday to me! [url]https://treysguitarrig.com/2021/07/28/2021-summer/[/url] [url]https://www.osirispod.com/podcasts/under-the-scales/under-the-scales-048mike-gordon-part-1/[/url]
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Yeah. That was a good show. Honorable mention to the fans who kept projectiles away from the band, And nice to see glow stick action again- lets bring our A game tomorrow. As for the music, well, you saw/heard it. Straight up heater. Was great to see Mike take the initial lead on encore, w/ two more for good measure. The boys connected on all levels tonight; This is a great place to be as a band and as a fan. Yeah.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Couch toured and well...wow what a show, getting really excited for AC! Really enjoyed it from start to finish. I love a Moma opener and in fact the song choices of both sets were impeccable. I love the new tunes like Sigma Oasis (despite the ironic lyrics) and Evening Song so I would never see those as detractors and so from beginning to end I'd be cheering. First set highlight for me was the opener thru Ghost. I am digging our 2021 Phish they are swinging for the fences and the tones and a effects are cool spacey and "futuristic" (see Fuego from the other night), the Ghost added some of those tones but is a blast of trilling bliss and then Driver...c'mon. First set boded (baded?....bodes!? it's bodes)...well anyway the second set had high expectations and well...yeah they brought it. Have I mentioned this was the second show back after being off for a year and half...so um yeah, this momentum is full steam. The second set like the first was a damn delight. The Carini is explosive and just rips a donut size hole in the middle of the set with Martian Monster and Golden Age. I love Mountain in the friggin Myst (Myst was so good so quick shout out) and then Blaze can either be a cool down, a scorcher or a black hole. This one played a quick romp into my favorite set closer Harry Hood. Hood like Slave and pizza its always good and this one delivers in turn. Fun encore and a fun night! Can't wait to see what show #3 brings.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode